Trilinga Temples

Trilinga temples are also known as Trilinga Desam, which points to “the country of the three lingas (Shivalingams).“

The mythicism was that Lord Shiva had been descended as Shivalingam on three sacred hills. The three sacred hills are:

  • Kaleswaram in Telangana
  • Srisailam in Rayalaseema
  • Bhimeswaram or Draksharamam in Coastal Andhra

The three holy mountains are considered as the boundaries of the whole Telugu country, which is presently called Telangana.

It is said that in a Telugu literature named Andhra Kaumudi, Sri Andhra Vishnu, a mythical combatant by the name Viṣhṇu who became popular as a very courageous savior of his small kingdom, have created a gigantic wall, uniting Srisailam, Bhimeswaram, and Kaleswaram by the Mahendra mountains.

And it is stated that in the three mountains were the three-eyed Ishwara, the principal god Shiva, was found carrying the trident in His hand and was inscribed by a collection of divinities reposed in the form of three Shivalingams. And hence the three hills and its related temples are known as Trilinga Kshetras (temples) or Trilinga Desam.

The myth also says that in Andhra Vishnu was aided by the divine angels and confronted with Nishambhu, the great giant, for thirteen yugas (ages of life of the world) and ruined him in battle and held up His residence on the banks of river Godavari along with the sages (saints).


Kaleshwaram Temple also called Dakshina Gangotri is found at the border of Telangana and Maharashtra on the banks of river Godavari.

The presiding deity of Kaleshwaram temple is Lord Shiva. And the unique feature of this temple is that the two sacred Shivalingams are located on a single pedestal.

The two sacred Shivalingams are regarded as Lord Shiva and Lord Yama, the god of death. And the deity is called as Lord Kaleshwara Mukteswara Swamy.


Srisailam Sri Mallikarjuna Swamy Temple is placed in Srisailam, state of Andhra Pradesh India, devoted to Lord Shiva.

Srisailam Sri Mallikarjuna Swamy Temple is one of the twelve Jyotirlinga temples devoted to Lord Shiva.

Sri Mallikarjuna Swamy Temple places the main deity Shivalingam. It is also admitted as one of the 18 Maha Shakti Peethas.

Bhimeswaram or Draksharamam

Draksharama Temple is inhabited at the township of Draksharamam also named as Dakshina Kasi, located at the East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh.

Draksharama Temple is one of the Pancharama Kshetras (five temples), devoted to Lord Shiva in Andhra Pradesh.

The principal deity of this temple is Lord Shiva, who is called by the name Lord Bhimeswara Swamy, who is placed in the form of sacred Shivalingam.

Join the Popular Temples Of India Facebook Page

Add Comment